NLD wins all six YCDC committee member seats

02 April 2019
NLD wins all six YCDC committee member seats
Photo: Thura/Mizzima

NLD candidates won in Yangon City Development Committee (YCDC) elections in all seats, the election commission issued its final election result for the YCDC elections on April 1.

In number one constituency of six YCDC member seats, candidate Win Myint Than from NLD party won with 48,138 votes and in number two constituency another NLD candidate Thura Aung won with 58,187 votes.

In number 3 constituency, NLD candidate Soe Lwin won with 28,780 and in constituency number 4, another NLD party candidate Sein Ohn won with 53,876 votes.

In constituency number 5, NLD candidate Nant Suu Shwe Sin won with 32,726 votes and in constituency number 6, another NLD party candidate Min Han won with 59,217 votes.

NLD party won 84 township-level committee member seats in the elections.

The NLD fielded 91 candidates and the party won 90 seats.

Total 272 candidates contested in 105 seats in these YCDC (municipal) elections held on March 31.

The election watchdog group, People's Alliance for Credible Elections (PACE), said that voter turnout in was a mere 10% of eligible voters though there were over 3 million eligible.