New visa on arrival rules for five countries

25 December 2019
New visa on arrival rules for five countries
Foreigners and local passengers arrive to the domestic terminal at Yangon International Airport in Yangon, Myanmar. Photo: Nyein Chan Naing/EPA

Myanmar's Hotel and Tourism Ministry Tuesday announced visa-on-arrivals to tourists from five countries starting from Jan. 1 next year, Xinhua reported.

The relaxation will be effective to ordinary passport holders from Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Luxembourg and New Zealand, who will enter Myanmar through Yangon, Mandalay and Nay Pyi Taw international airports, for a three-year probation period until Dec. 31, 2022.

Also, the agreement to grant up to 30 days of visa-exempted stay for Vietnamese tourists in Myanmar starting from Jan. 1, 2020 was reached during the official visit of Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar earlier this month.